Transformation Tuesday

Today I went to the gym, like I normally do, but I felt differently today than I did yesterday.  I felt proud, grateful and humble all at the same time, a weird combination I know.  As I was standing against the wall waiting for my turn on the pectoral fly machine I looked down at my legs and realized how far I have come. On November 16, 2015 I went in to surgery for meniscus repair surgery with a quick recovery in my favor but still a possibility of a six month restriction on most movement. Five months ago I was sleeping on the couch because climbing the stairs to my bed was far too painful. Five months ago I was mad at myself for not taking caution and listening to the signals my body was constantly sending me. Now, I am in a much better place physically and mentally because I took time to recovery and heal. Today, I am running faster miles, lifting more weight and barreling down boundaries that I refuse to accept. I am taking time to understand the limitations I had while still safely challenging myself to become stronger in more ways than I can describe. As I looked down at my legs today and had my realization I decided that the only way to reach my full recovery is to give myself credit where credit was due. Go me for overcoming what seemed to be the most heart-breaking experience I’ve faced this far.

Although my injury was not ideal, was it the wake-up call I needed to realize that it was time to start taking care of myself? Maybe so.

Want to hear more stories about unbelievable recoveries? Check out a few of these TED Talks to see how people from all walks of life with many different injuries overcame the adversity they were handed. These stories are humbling and inspiring.

Leave a Reply

